20
May
06

Movies: Friends With Money

So my friend Mike and I go to sushi and the movies a few times a month.  We generally have the same taste and will pretty much see anything.  So today we went for sushi and picked up a copy of Now(an urban weekly) to decide what to see.  After finding out we couldn't make the shows of Akeela and the Bee and Brick we decided on seeing Friends with Money.  The paper gave it 3 stars, which in NOW means average.  It has Jennifer Aniston, that made us skeptical, but it also had Frances McDormand, that made us go.

The movie was awesome.  Very true descriptions of friendships and relationships.  Every character was messed up, no one really had a happy ending.  It just ended, no drama, just an end.  Just like it began.  As we were leaving the theatre and walking to the subway I was talking about why I enjoyed the movie.  The only obstacles facing the characters were themselves.  That really hit home to me.  Especially in summer season where terrifying, dramatic and completely unrealistic obsticles are everywhere.  There's no life or death situation, characters won't die if they don't get out of the boat.  They don't have have a thousand year old mystery to reaveal to the world.  They're just people.  They're all messed up.

In the words of Olivia 'they have problems too.'

5 Responses to “Movies: Friends With Money”


  1. 1 mandilyn
    May 21, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    I’m so glad you liked this movie. I haven’t seen it yet but my brother hated it so I was kind of on the fence. I’m am totally going to see it though now, because I trust your judgement more than his anyway.

  2. January 18, 2007 at 6:58 am

    Google is the best search engine

  3. September 19, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    oh lord my baby your driving me craz. Serafino Raimondo.

  4. October 21, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    it was back in 99, watching movies all the tim. Andreas Tennyson.


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


