14
Jun
06

Tara Maclay

Until September comes and new shows are upon us I've decided to blog about past shows I've loved. Buffy was one of those shows that I'd watched from the very first episode, without getting involved in the fandom. It was a show I watched on my own and rarely talked about with anyone. In season 6 Buffy killed Tara as reasoning for Willow becoming the big bad. I totally got it, but I was depressed. Tonight I was having an IM convo with a net buddy and she told me an awesome story.

Said story: While speaking at the Wizard World Chicago Convention in August 2004, Joss Whedon claimed that he had planned to bring the character of Tara back from the dead at the end of Season 7. According to Whedon, the episode would have centered around Buffy being granted one "life-altering" wish. Buffy would have struggled the whole episode trying to decide what she wanted to do with the wish (including, possibly, restoring Angel's humanity). The episode would have ended with Buffy telling Willow that she'd just gotten a great new pair of shoes, and when Willow asked her if she used up her wish on new shoes, Buffy would have said, "No, silly!" and stepped aside to reveal Tara. This plan was abandoned when Amber Benson was unavailable for filming.

See this is my problem with getting emotionally attached to tv shows. I completely forget about the business and get pissed when actors are unavailable. All I know is that if I was a producer on Season 7 I would have fought all year to make that scene happen.

3 Responses to “Tara Maclay”


  1. June 16, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    But see if they had brought her back she still might have been killed in the last episode for dramatic effect like poor anya. Oh poor anya.

  2. June 17, 2006 at 6:27 pm

    Anya’s death was so sad. I’ve always said the only acceptable way for her to die would be fighting an army of bunnies.

  3. September 28, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I always just imagine that that episode really DID happen and was just never filmed. So in the Buffyverse, Tara really did get brought back. I try not to think about it when I’m reading season 8. …No, I’m not crazy. Why do you ask? ^_^


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


