31
Jul
06

Pilot Review: Friday Night Lights

There’s something you should know about me, the last time I went to an organized sporting event I left early, the time before that, I fell asleep.  Sports are just not my thing.  This is precisely why I expected to get bored out of my mind with Friday Night Lights, after-all I’m definitely not their target demographic.

That being said I ended up enjoying the show immensely.  Seeing how attached the entire community was towards football was scary.  Here in Canada, no one cares about football.  The Superbowl is an excuse to get drunk and watch the commercials.  While hockey culture can at times be suffocating, it’s nothing like football in the American south.  When the actual game began about half way through the show I found myself routing for the team.  These are just a bunch of average guys, desperately trying to hold on to their one gift that may make them rich and famous.

The characters were fine, but as with any pilot it’s hard to gague because of the limitless amounts of exposition.  The twist during the game was painfully obvious, but still gripping.  Seeing the aftermath of all the players praying was quite touching, as was the visit to the hospital where everyone held it together, even the players that hated his other.

While Friday Night Lights won’t be a show I’ll stay home to watch it’ll definitely earn a place on my PVR’s downloading list.  Plus Kyle Chandler = pretty.

4 Responses to “Pilot Review: Friday Night Lights”


  1. August 1, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    Just saw this pilot too; and I must admit I enjoyed it very much too; although classic plot, it was made to perfection and I hope it is going to keep up the pace thoughout the season, because then it could be one of the more significant shows this fall.
    But what really scared me; fiction or no fiction was the emmense pressure that is put – in my eyes – boys, who grow up superstars in their own community never realizing what is outside football and that town. It is so fair from anything I have seen here in my little safe Denmark 😀

    And for somethingcompletely different, been reading around Ur blog, and enjoying it very much. Like Ur take on TV and entertainment. Have a nice day.

  2. 2 mary
    August 2, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    How were both of you able to see the pilot already? I would love to see it.

    I’ll admit that while I really like football, the main reason I’ll watch the show is because of Kyle Chandler. 🙂

  3. August 2, 2006 at 9:52 pm

    That’s how NBC should sell the show to women, Kyle Chandler = eye candy. It’s making it’s way online. While I don’t ‘encourage’ downloading, check out the torrent sites. If you still can’t find it, email me.

  4. April 22, 2008 at 1:23 am

    goggan akoasma sialolithiasis apogeotropism yagua behoovingly angionosis bacteriophagy
    South Plains Biomedical Services, Inc
    http://www.outreach.psu.edu/Biotechnology/


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


