12
Aug
06

Golden Age or Slump?

I have a simple question to ask you guys, do you think tv is currently in a slump or are we perhaps in a golden age?  I ask because we’re only ever hearing bad things about tv; the death of the sitcom, the rise of reality and so on.  I personally think TV’s at a good stage right now.  

All I have to do is go through the list of shows that I love right now: Veronica Mars, Weeds, Lost, Studio 60, The Nine, Grey’s Anatomy, The Office, My Name is Earl and even Gilmore Girls to a lesser extent.  These are all shows extremely high in quality.  I don’t watch The Shield, Rescue Me or Deadwood, but I hear they’re all potential classics.  If you think about the recent shows that are now off the air; The West Wing, Arrested Development, Malcolm in the Middle(the early years) and if you go slightly farther back Frasier and the Whedon shows, they were all great.

So I guess I’m just looking for opinions. If this isn’t a good era for tv, what was?  Does a trend like reality tv tarnish everything else on the air?  You’ve heard my thoughts, let me hear yours. 
    

3 Responses to “Golden Age or Slump?”


  1. August 12, 2006 at 5:33 pm

    Well… For most part I agree; and i think especially the 1 hour drama shows look really strong these years; with almost movie like set-ups; and the shows that have been lined up in the fall, it seems to be even better with Studio 60, followed by Friday Night Lights and Kidnapped. If those three continues properly from the Pilot; it could be legendary 😀
    But however… I think comedy is in a bit of a dead period; Our Thirties; the Class and The Singles brings nothing new to the table so to speak; and with my personal favorite Scrubs problably being in its final fase, along with what just finished – as U mentioned Malcolm, Arrested Development; I fear there could be a long period of time; where there will be no development in the sitcom tradition.
    But it is not all bad; I saw the first season of Weeds on your recommendation; and I must say I like it a lot. This the kind of comedic-dramatic shows that could save TV, and stay a good wholesome, intelligent alternative to looking at strangers hurting the self jumping of a bridge on Youtube.

  2. August 12, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    I completely forgot to mention Scrubs in my article, but you’re right about about the new comedies this season, they’re all unimpressive. I however think comedy is in a time of real evolution, it’s no longer situational. I don’t tend to watch conventional comedies anymore, instead preferring dramedies. So I think we’re in a transitional time for comedies, but I’m excited with what’s to come.

  3. August 12, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    TV Dork,

    Read my long support posting about why this is the Golden Age of television on your TV Guide Blog. But let me add here that “Scrubs”, for my $, is the best comedy on Television, bar none. The only half hour shows I put in the same class are Weeds, The Office & maybe Curb Your Enthusiasm and Entourage.


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


