01
Oct
06

Not Feeling The Sunset Strip

So I feel guilty for what I’m about to write.  I just finished watching Studio 60 on CTV and I smirked once.  And it was a Jordan moment at that.  The character that I thought I’d hate has suddenly become my favourite.  I guess that’s good writing.  I really wish that wasn’t the last positive thing I’d be saying in this commentary. 

Now for my big flaw with the show.  If they’re going to show so much of the sketches within the show then they need to be funny, especially since at the end of the 3rd episode Studio 60’s ratings have spiked.  Unless Sorkin is making some commentary on how a horrible/unfunny show can maintain ratings, then he needs to fix the sketches. 

My other concern is I don’t feel attached to any of the characters. By the third episode of a tv show there should be characters and relationships that stand out.  I’m not seeing any.  I see Sorkin trying to shove the idea of Harriet and Matt down my throat but I’m not buying it.  Maybe the problem lies in casting and that these actors don’t have the vibrant chemistry that the casts of Sports Night and West Wing had.  Maybe I’m wrong, maybe two characters will emerge as the next Josh and Donna, with sparkling chemistry slowly evolving throughout the season.

Right now it’s sad to say but the only reason I’m watching Studio 60 over the next two week is because Lauren Graham will have a 2 episode cameo.

I never thought I would be anything less than ecstatic about Studio 60.  When I saw a preair of the pilot I thought I was seeing TV’s next great thing.  Now I feel like I’m watching this seasons version of Commander and Chief. 

4 Responses to “Not Feeling The Sunset Strip”


  1. October 1, 2006 at 11:46 pm

    ACK! No! You didn’t laugh when Danny was giving that pep talk and Matt came in the room and delivered the line about how the audience was hot and irritated? That was a great moment — c’mon.

  2. October 2, 2006 at 1:05 am

    I have to admit that I missed that moment due to a crying child waking up. I’ve got the show pvr and plan to watch the scenes that I missed bits of tomorrow.

  3. 3 Mediaguru
    October 2, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    The actors are great, the writing is good, but they lost me on that last episode. I agree that the sketches within the show should be much more entertaining. The end musical had quite the cheesy effect and I was really hoping to see the “Crazy Christians” sketch instead. That topic was perfect fodder for debate, but then they had to go and ruin it with a prayer circle just before. I realize that the producers probably felt like they had to redeem themselves in the eye of the public and appeal the mass “believers” that seem to be running rampid in this country. But for all the true independent THINKERS out there who question faith and religion, this was a huge mistake. I will no longer be watching this show, as Christianity has become so perverted in the U.S., and the bible so distorted over time that to me, it is more a work of fiction than reality.

  4. 4 s60fan
    November 28, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    what about jordan kissing danny?? i was staring at my TV wondering what that was – if it was on purpose or not. i sort of see sorkin trying to put them together.. they have many banter/flirting scenes reminiscent of josh and donna, like the “you know, you look like one of them but you talk like one of us” comment… what do you guys think??


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


