09
Oct
06

My (Settled) Fall Schedule

So it took a couple of weeks but I think I’ve got my regular schedule down pat. Aside from the cancellation of Smith everything I’ve been hooked on is still safe. Except Men in Trees. Please don’t cancel this.



Mondays:

Prison Break – I just got into this show this season. And thanks to a Monday night class I never get to watch it live. However the installation of my new computer DVR has saved the day. I’m pathetically behind(still on episode 3) but I will catch up as soon as I have time.

Heroes – I did not like this pilot. Not one bit. I dvr’d episode 2 on a whim last week and fell for the show. I completely in love with Hiro but I feel that love may be short lived like my Season 1 OC crush on Adam Brody or the days before I hated George passionately on Grey’s. Can someone please explain to me what the hell is happening with Nikki? I have no freaking clue. Oh and I still don’t like Milo. I was never a big Jess fan and he’s not doing it for me here. (Sorry Marissa)

Tuesdays:

Gilmore GirlsAgainst my better judgement I’m going to do everything in my power to continue watching this show. I hate this years A-plot with Lorelai and thing the ‘journey’s’ are a bunch of bull. That being said, I’ve put in 6 years, one more won’t hurt. Plus thanks to the DVR I can record it at 7(yay early Canadian feeds) and fast forward through all the Christopher scenes. I really hate that man. The deal-breaker for me this season is if Lorelai tells Chris she loves him. If she does that, I’m gone. I don’t think I’d ever be able to watch the show again with a straight face. This show is now cut from my schedule. I will resume watching on the 14th episode. Maybe the 13th if Lorelai hates herself enough.

Veronica Mars – I love this show. It’s an addiction. Logan is hot. I don’t love Piz as much as most but that’s only because I know he’s gonna be the reason for Logan/Veronica hitting the skids. I love how the writers write Logan but I’d really like if they could have him not screw up this time. Make this break-up Veronica’s fault. Pipe dream you say? Yeah, I know it is.

Wednesdays:

Lost – It’s the most addictive show on tv. I love every minute of it. I love going on the the internet to hear what the crazy internet people are saying about it. Juliette seems like a great addition to the cast. Now please, tell me more about Libby. NOW.

The Nine – This pilot owned me. My favourite pilot of the season(way above Studio 60 for me). I love that the moment it ended I not only wanted more episodes, I NEEDED more. The cast seems to have a genuine chemistry that I enjoy.

30 Rock – I have not seen this show yet. Alec Baldwin is my reason for watching the pilot. That’s all I can say at this point.

Thursdays:

My busy night!

Ugly Betty – I didn’t expect to fall for this show but the pilot had me hooked. I love it’s delicious over the top qualities. And is it sad to say I wish Selma Hayek was a regular in those telenovellas they watch? So funny. I feel like Ricky Gervais pulled some strings on this show with Ashley Jensen as Christina being a regular and Judy Davis having that delightfully over the top Fashion TV cameo in episode 2. Such good casting. I’ve completely fallen in love with Betty’s sister Hilda. She had me at ‘I guess we owe you 4000 and 50 cents.’ Such a diva!

The Office – I got hooked because of Jim and Pam. Now Michael and Dwight are my Office supercouple. Angela and Meredith never cease to make me laugh. I like that Pam is growing up and is not with any man. She needs to stay the hell away from Kelly though. That’s just dangerous.

Grey’s Anatomy – I’ve been watching since the pilot. I’m in the ‘I hate Meredith’ club founded by my good friend John Pollock. In fact not a week goes by when we don’t have a phone call talking about how much we hate Meredith. I watch the show for everyone else. Especially Addison. Oh how I love Addison.

Fridays:
Men in Trees – I don’t watch this show live. I don’t even DVR it usually. I do the very bad thing of downloading it. I’m not a Neilson house, it’s not like my viewing habits count. It’s cute, it’s written by an ex-SATC writer and I like it. Yes, I even like Anne Heche. Hell I’m gonna go as far as saying she’s the reason I like it so damn much. She just works as the title character, Marin. Also, Patrick could not be any cuter. Annie however annoys me. And Jack needs a haircut. The man is one step away from sporting a mullet.

Saturdays:
There’s tv on Saturday? Seriously?
I wouldn’t watch SNL if you paid me.

Sundays:

Studio 60: Thanks to trusty pre-releasing on CTV I get Studio 60 on Sunday nights. I like it this way. I’m luke warm about the show. Sometimes I feel it displays all of Sorkin’s negative qualities rather than the positive ones we saw on Sports Night and West Wing. I have warmed up to Harriet and Jordan and they’re my reasons for sticking it out a little bit longer. Well that and the fact that Lauren Graham is guest hosting over the next two weeks! I know it’s gonna be a glorified 2 episode cameo but I don’t care. I love the woman, even if she hates my favourite tv man, Luke Danes.

Brothers and Sisters – I made fun of this pilot to no ends. Yes, it’s the show with the good actors from all those other shows but it’s fun. Sally Field every week on my tv is something I could never complain about. Calista Flockhart attempting her sane Anne Coulter impersonation makes me laugh. I still feel weired out seeing Brenda Fisher all like domesticated. I couldn’t get used to that on SFU, I can’t get used to it here.

I totally forgot to mention my download shows, the shows I love but watch whenever I have free time. Weeds. It airs in Canada later so I get it Tuesdays online and watch it then. It’s never enough. The show needs to be an hour long.

Nip/Tuck
– It’s stupid, badly written over the top trash. And I love it.

Battlestar Galactica – I’m new to the show but watched the recap episode and it hooked me. The two hour premiere was some amazing tv.
Final note: Holy crap, I watch way more tv than I thought I did. It’s the DVR’s fault and I’m sticking to that. I just realized I watch NOTHING on CBS. Wonder how that happened?

5 Responses to “My (Settled) Fall Schedule”


  1. 1 Jenny
    October 10, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    Hmmm… on heroes, Nikki’s other ‘self’ in mirrorland told her to follow this map. She drove out to the middle of the desert and found a shovel. She did some digging (hahaha) and found a skeleton with a ring on it (and burried the bodies that her other self killed)

    The ring was a gang symbol of her husbands. turns out he got a couple million dollars, killed his gang and is now on the run (he is guilty and running from the law)

    or that’s how i interpreted it. I love hiro as well. they uglified Milo. with that nasty hair. studio 60 is great as well. no supernatural? what?
    My TV schedule is similar. minus Greys.

  2. October 10, 2006 at 11:43 pm

    Jenny,

    I totally think Nikki’s ex didn’t kill those people but that her alter ego did and he’s protecting her.

    I can’t do Supernatural, never will. I blame it on this disease I have, Dean-itis. I hate Padelecki more than words can describe.

  3. October 15, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Great lineup of shows you have on your schedule there – totally in agreement about your comments with GG (I stopped watching Feb this year) and VM – that keeps on getting better. Are you going to be doing a live blog of Studio 60 this week? I was reading yours last week, since it was a good recap, etc.

  4. January 18, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Google is the best search engine

  5. August 13, 2008 at 5:52 am

    Oh, Thanks! Really funny. Big ups!


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


