15
Oct
06

Studio 60: The Long Lead Story

So once again I feel like I just wasted an hour of my day. Last week’s episode got my hopes up, made me think Sorkin was just hitting his stride. Apparently it was just a fluke.

Tonight’s Studio 60 felt like an episode of Gilmore Girls, nothing happened until the final minute. That final minute did however keep me glued to the screen.

I really was hoping Sorkin would lay off on his preachy dialogue this week, I hoped for the wrong thing. The show makes it a minute in before it takes itself seriously once again. Matt asks Martha, why she , the brilliant two time Pulitzer prize winner who covers elections and wars would wanna report on Studio 60. Martha stands up and lets it loose, describing how important Studio 60 is to America. I laughed at this point. I’m not thinking that was the intent.

Martha then shifts her focus to Harriet where it becomes pathetically obvious that her article won’t be about Studio 60 but really the romance of Matt and Harriet. She then gets Harriet to give the most obvious exposition speech ever where she explains her entire history. Not since Josh explaining politics to Donna have I seen more obvious exposition. Paulson is kinda cute here though.

Is this blog boring you? I blame it on the episode, it was boring. Jordan’s plot involved a Mark Burnett esque super producer pitching a horrible show to her and Jack. My problem with this? Jack is the Chairman of NBS, he would not be sitting in on this pitch. The only reason Jordan’s there is because the slimy producer is such a ‘star’. Jordan turns the pitch down pissing off Jack and making him go cry to Mommy(Ed Asner). Jordan wins and NBS passes on the deal, CBS buys it. Because CBS is the network with game shows hosted by Howie Mandell and Bob Saget. It’s also the same network that lets David Hasselhoff judge talent….wait, what’s that you say? NBC, really? Nevermind.

At the same time Jordan wants to woo an up and coming writer who’s writing another ‘brilliant’ show to come to NBS. He wants to go to HBO because HBO has good content and they foster good content. Tell that to the Deadwood fans. Jordan then tries to get Danny to help her woo the kid, Danny says no. He doesn’t trust Jordan. After Jordan turns down the sleazy reality show pitch Danny falls in love. He talks to the kid for 5 seconds and suddenly the show is on NBS.

The sketches this week were hit and miss. Harriet did a pretty funny Nancy Grace, but aside from that everything was forgettable.

Now for the highlight of the episode, the last few minutes. Harriet and Matt have a rather touching scene talking about the Vanity Fair article. What’s important here is not what they say, but what they don’t say. Sorkin steals a page from The Office’s book and the infamous 27 seconds of silence Jim and Pam pulled off in Booze Cruise. Harriet and Matt share some gripping moments of silence and then she declares she going to meet her boyfriend at the rap party. Perry and Paulson show some amazing chemistry in this scene. Definite highlight of the episode.

That’s what happened in this episode. In 10 minutes I’ll forget. I’m also predicting Matt may sleep with Lauren Graham at the after party next week. Danny kept telling him he needed a rebound girl and Graham had a glorified extra role in this episode and is returning next week with dialogue. You don’t get a ‘star’ to be in two episodes unless she’s got a real role. That’s my prediction.

Man, I wish this show didn’t suck.

8 Responses to “Studio 60: The Long Lead Story”


  1. October 15, 2006 at 8:45 pm

    Well LG did state that her two episode appearances in S60 were in fact just that a cameo and nothing more 🙂

    For all the bagging Paulson is getting I actually find the more bagging she’s getting the more I’m enjoying her character.

  2. October 15, 2006 at 8:49 pm

    Paulson is the highlight of the show for me. I love her and her portrayal of Harriet.

    LG has an actual scene next week with Matt and Danny. I’m hoping it has a little bit of substance.

  3. October 15, 2006 at 9:05 pm

    Yeah the scene next week as you said previously actually has dialogue – it’s what the promo pictures that were released for the episode were in relation to. And the scene’s also been up on iVillage for the past two weeks.

    Agreed with Paulson.

  4. October 15, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    It’s the only thing keeping me watching the show next week so I’ve been avoiding spoilers for it. She totally looks great in those pics.

  5. October 16, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    I don’t think the show sucks but agree that this week’s episode was the softest of the five aired so far.

  6. October 16, 2006 at 6:40 pm

    I just don’t think the show is worthy of the hype. it has its moments but I feel like there are more worthy shows this year. If Sorkin’s name wasn’t attached and the show was viewed objectively it would already be cancelled. It has 13 episodes to hit its groove which is more than most shows would ever get these days. I’ve convinced there’s a really good show in Studio 60, we just haven’t seen it yet.

    I guess I’m just dissipointed because I felt an immediate POP with Sports Night and West Wing. I’m just used to having to give Sorkin a chance. He usually starts off with a bang and slowly loses interest in his own product.

    The fact that he’s going to leave the show to go supervise Charlie Wilson’s War is not comforting. Lets hope his attention span lasts longer than it did with Sports Night.

  7. January 18, 2007 at 6:54 am

    Google is the best search engine

  8. 8 samm
    June 16, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    wat is a product placement in this eposide ?


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


