16
Oct
06

Dratch Finally Speaks!

Could I love Rachel Dratch anymore? I think not. I still remember the first time I saw her on SNL. She was playing Calista Flockhart in a Dylan McDermott hosted episode. She hit it out of park, McDermott couldn’t even keep a straight face.

So when Dratch got the lead in 30 Rock I was so excited. The initial pilot footage looked great. Especially Dratch’s scenes with Alec Baldwin….oh how it all changed. As everyone knows Dratch was told they were re-shooting 30 Rock with Jane Krakowski in her role. Dratch was then relegated to playing a bit part in a few episodes. So yeah, Dratch definitely got the shaft. Plus the pilot that NBC aired was not funny and the ratings blew.

Dratch obviously feels a little slighted by the incident as she declares in this New York Metro article.

My two favourite parts:

What do you think of Studio 60?
What’s weird to
me about it is that they’re so serious about comedy. In the real comedy
world, no one’s like, “We’ve got to change people!”

What’s it like working with Alec Baldwin?
I haven’t really worked with him that much, except for when I was starring in that first pilot. Cough, cough.
-New York Metro

I love the cough, cough. And it’s comforting to hear that those in television also think Sorkin’s approach to sketch comedy is egotistical and unrealistic.

0 Responses to “Dratch Finally Speaks!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


