14
Nov
06

Welcome Home Mrs. Hayden

3 times. 3 freaking times. That’s pretty much all I can think of saying right now. If you’ve read online in the past few months you knew that Lorelai and Christopher were gonna get married. So yeah, that happened. But that’s not the big deal. The big deal is that Lorelai said ‘I love you’ three times. Never in a painful way, like her two ‘I Love You’s’ to Luke were in last years ultimatum. This was a different Lorelai. A gleefully happy Lorelai. A version of the character that just broke my heart.

We don’t see the wedding. We do however see Lorelai and Chris arriving home where he says what is destined to become an infamous line, ‘Welcome Home Mrs. Hayden.’ He leaves the room and Lorelai plays with her ring, suddenly looking different.

Also Lorelai does mention that Rory should be there when they get married but Chris quickly talks her out of it. This moment alone shows how not-Lorelai, Lorelai is right now. I hope there’s some serious angst on Rory’s behalf regarding this.

Here’s hoping the writer’s can dig themselves out of this one. Lorelai Gilmore doesn’t exist anymore. It seems fitting. Tragically so.

7 Responses to “Welcome Home Mrs. Hayden”


  1. November 15, 2006 at 11:22 am

    I couldn’t agree more… every time Lorelai said “I love you,” I thought, “Who is this person?! I don’t understand why the new writers, etc. thought the solution to the mess they’d been handed was to do this. Why not take the show back to its “roots” and focus on the mother/daughter relationship?

  2. 2 aviva
    November 19, 2006 at 10:20 pm

    i was YELLING at the scream and physically shaking my hands when she said it.
    it’s over for me.
    a promo for next week came on when i was watching reba today (don’t start on that…) and i had to put my hands over my ears.

  3. January 18, 2007 at 6:57 am

    Google is the best search engine

  4. May 18, 2013 at 6:57 am

    I have been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough
    for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much
    more useful than ever before.

  5. June 5, 2013 at 8:39 am

    If you would like to obtain a good deal from this post then you have to apply these strategies to your won
    web site.

  6. July 19, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    I leave a response whenever I appreciate a article on a
    website or I have something to add to the discussion.

    Usually it’s caused by the sincerness displayed in the post I looked at. And after this post Welcome Home Mrs. Hayden | Media Obsessed. I was excited enough to post a comment 😛 I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay.
    Is it simply me or does it give the impression like
    some of these comments appear as if they are left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing at other sites, I
    would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list the complete urls of
    your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


Leave a Reply

Hey There!

This blog will gradually grow as I have more time to update it. I love television, movies and pretty much all things media related. So prepare for changes as this is very much still a work in progress. Questions or further comments? Email tvdork.

Contributors

TV Dork (Publisher/Editor)
Soapbox26 (Guest Columnist)


